Grant License on Sign In

Grant license on sign in (Grant role on sign in) lets unlicensed users in specific groups become licensed when they sign into a Tableau site. This streamlines license provisioning for administrators and removes the user’s need to request a license before using Tableau.

For more information about site role capabilities and minimum site roles, see Set Users’ Site Roles.

For example, imagine that your company has 100 people in the Marketing group, but only 25 members need to access Tableau Online. The Tableau Online administrator isn't sure which 25 need Tableau. That administrator can create a Marketing user group with an Explorer minimum site role, select Grant role on sign in, and add all 100 Marketing members to the group. Instead of provisioning licenses to the entire group, the 25 Tableau users in Marketing are provisioned Explorer licenses when they sign in to their Tableau Online site. Those who don't need Tableau Online remain unlicensed unless they sign in.

Note: For more information about benefits and best practices, see Grant Role on Sign In(Link opens in a new window) in Tableau Blueprint, Tableau's planning tool for data-driven organizations.

Activate Grant role on sign in

You can enable Grant role on sign in on new or existing groups. The following steps walk through how to use Grant role on sign in to add new users that are eligible for a license but may not consume one. This may be the case when your company has a lot of eligible users, but limited Tableau licenses.

  1. In a site, add a new group:

    • Click Groups, and then click New Group.

    • Add a group name.

    • Select Grant role on sign in and select a minimum site role for the group. This setting means licenses and site roles will only be provisioned to group users who sign into this Tableau Online site.

    • Click Create.

  2. Add users to a site, either by entering users’ email addresses individually, or Import Users via a CSV file that you create using the CSV Import File Guidelines.

    • Enter email addresses if adding individually. For information on using Google or SAML authentication when adding users, see Add Users to a Site.

      If you add more than one user, separate each address with a semicolon.

      For example, tdavis@example.com; jjohnson@example.com; hwilson@example.com

    • Set the site role for those users to Unlicensed.

    • Click Add Users.

  3. Add those new, unlicensed users to the new group.
    • Click Groups, and then click the name of the group.

    • In the group's page, click Add Users.

    • Select the users to be added, and then click Add Users.

For more information, see Create a Group and Add Users to It.

Modifying user roles with Grant role on sign in

If a user is part of a group using Grant role on sign in, then that user role can't be set to unlicensed or downgraded to a role lower than the minimum site role set for the group, whether or not they sign in. Administrators can upgrade a user’s site role manually, however.

To downgrade a user’s site role, or unlicense the user from the site, remove the user from the group(s) that have Grant role on sign in enabled.

In accordance with the terms of the End User License Agreement(Link opens in a new window), licenses granted on an Authorized User basis may be permanently reassigned to new users. Users may only be downgraded to a lower site role (including Unlicensed) when they will permanently discontinue access to Server Software at the higher role.

Removing users affected by Grant role on sign in

You can remove a user from a site only if the user does not own content. If you attempt to remove a user who owns content, the user site role will be set to Unlicensed and removed from all groups, but the user will not be removed from the site. To remove content owners, remove owners from group with Grant site role enabled or reassign content ownership to another user. For more information, see Remove users from a site in the View, Manage, or Remove Users help topic.

If the default All Users group has Grant site role enabled, users who own content can't be removed from the site or unlicensed. To remove or unlicense these users, reassign content ownership to another user, then remove or unlicense the user.

REST API can be used to reassign content ownership of a workbook. For more information, see Update Workbook in the REST API documentation. REST API can also be used to remove users from the site and transfer content ownership to another user. For more information, see Remove User from Site in the REST API documentation.

For more information on reassigning content ownership in Tableau Online, see Manage Content Ownership.

Thanks for your feedback! There was an error submitting your feedback. Please try again.