Manage Web Content

Use the options detailed in this topic to edit item descriptions or perform actions like moving or renaming items on your Tableau site. The options available to you are based on your site role and permissions.

Note: If Tableau Catalog is enabled on your site, you can access external assets (databases and tables). Some of the options for external assets differ from the options for Tableau content (project, workbooks, views, data sources, data roles, and flows).

Starting in 2019.3, Tableau Catalog is available in the Data Management Add-on to Tableau Server and Tableau Online. For more information, see "About Tableau Catalog" in the Tableau Server or Tableau Online Help.

Access options

The top of the page for each item displays the name of the item and the owner or contact. Some pages may show additional information, such as a description of the item or the date the item was last modified.

Content options

You can use the icons next to the item name to:

Add or edit descriptions

Descriptions make it easier for everyone in your organization to find the right items. If you own an item or have the appropriate permissions, you can edit the item’s description.

Describe projects, workbooks, and data sources

  1. From the navigation pane, select Explore.
  2. Navigate to the project, workbook, or data source you want to describe.
  3. Click the details icon i icon.
  4. To the right of About, click Edit.
  5. Enter a description in the About field, then click Save.

Project Description

Describe metrics

  1. From the navigation pane, select Explore.
  2. Navigate to the metric you want to describe.
  3. Mouse over the Description header and click the edit icon that appears.
  4. Enter a description, then click Save.

Metric Description

You can also edit a metric's description via the Actions menu.

Describe flows

  1. From the navigation pane, select Explore.
  2. Select All Flows from the drop-down menu.
  3. In the Name column, select the flow you want to describe.
  4. On the Overview tab, click the edit icon next to Description.
  5. Enter a description, then click Save.

Flow Description

Describe databases and tables

  1. From the navigation pane, select External Assets (available if Tableau Catalog is enabled).
  2. Select Databases and Files or Tables.
  3. In the Name column, select the asset you want to describe.
  4. From the Actions () drop-down menu to the right of the asset name, select Edit Description.

    Database Description

  5. In the About field of the Edit Description dialog box, enter a description, then click Save.

Describe table columns

  1. From the navigation pane, select External Assets (available if Tableau Catalog is enabled).
  2. Select Databases and Files or Tables.
  3. From the list, select the name of the asset with the column you want to describe.
  4. On the table page, under Columns, select the name of the column.
  5. In the Column Details dialog box, select the edit icon to the right of Description.

    Column Description

  6. Enter a description in the Description field, then click Save.

Access your content

To see the content you own, click your profile image or initials at the top of the page, and then click My Content.

Your options

Your content page displays your user information and the content that you own. From this page, you can also access your alerts, subscriptions, and account settings. To learn more, see Manage Your Account Settings.

Your content page

For the views you own, you can see which users have looked at a particular view by selecting Who Has Seen This View?.

Picture of Who Has Seen This View? selected in actions menu

Perform actions

Click check boxes to select items, then click the Actions drop-down menu to access commands available for those items.

In you don't have permission to perform an action on the item selected, the action will be disabled. If you select multiple items, and you don't have permission to perform an action on one of the items selected, you will get an error when you try to perform the action on that item.

Actions menu

Note: Different types of items have different actions available. If you select more than one type, for example, selecting a workbook and a data source, the actions you see will be limited to those in common between the types.

Access the actions menu for the item you currently have open by clicking the at the top of the page. This actions menu is disabled if you have check boxes selected for other items on the page; instead, use the actions menu shown above to modify checked items.

Accessing action for content currently open

In grid view, access the actions menu from the lower-right corner of a thumbnail.

Accessing actions from thumbnail

In list view, access the actions menu to the right of the item’s name.

Accessing actions from list

Delete content

In order to delete content, you must meet one of the following criteria:

  • Have a site role of Explorer (can publish) or Creator AND have the Delete capability for the content
  • Be the content owner
  • Be the project owner or project leader where the content is located

For more information about how permissions and site roles interact, see Effective Permissions.

Tip: Be careful when deleting content from your site. Deleting is a permanent action for all types of content except for views.

To delete content:

  1. From the navigation pane, select Explore.
  2. Navigate to the content you want to delete.
  3. From the Actions () drop-down menu, select Delete.

Some areas of your site, like collections, recommendations, and external assets, provide links or references to items. These links or references do not affect the items themselves. You can remove an item from a collection or hide a recommendation without worrying about deleting the original item.

Consequences of deleting content

Type of content Consequence
Workbooks, metrics, flows, and data roles The content is permanently deleted. You can't undo this action.
Views The view is removed from the site; however, it is still accessible if you edit or download the workbook. The effect is the same as if the view had been hidden upon publishing. For more information, see Show or hide sheets .
Projects The project, as well as any content inside the project, is permanently deleted.
Collections The collection is permanently deleted, but the items added to the collection are not deleted.
Thanks for your feedback!