Share Web Content

Share projects, workbooks, views, data sources, and flows either directly with other users or by copying a link to the content. For views, you can also copy code to embed the view in a web page.

To access the content you share with them, users must have permission to view that content in Tableau Server or Tableau Online. If users don’t have permission, they can request access to projects, workbooks, and views upon opening the link to the shared content.

Share directly with other users

When you share content directly with other users on your site, they receive an email with a link to that content. The content is also added to their Shared with Me page, so they can easily find it later.

  1. Open the Actions () menu for the content you want to share.

  2. Select Share from the menu.

    Share menu option

  3. Under Share with people, enter at least one user name. When you type, names that match your text appear.

    Share menu option

  4. Under Message, enter an optional note to your recipients.

  5. Click the Share button.

Copy the link generated for a piece of content to share without sending an email to specific users.

  1. Open the Actions () menu for the content you want to share.

  2. Select Share from the menu.

  3. Click the Copy Link button, then paste the link into an application to share it with others.

    Share link dialog

Tip: If you don't see the Sharing using a link option, clear any names from under Share with people.

Share and embed views

In addition to the sharing options listed above, views have unique options available when you click the Share button on the toolbar for a view. You can share a view that you have modified, and you can get the embed code for a view.

View toolbar

Share modified or custom views

If you modify a view, by selecting marks or filters, Tableau captures these modifications by generating a unique link when you click the Share button. This unique link replaces the link to the original view for all sharing and embedding options. That way, the people you share with will see exactly what you were seeing when you shared.

The link generated for a modified view expires two years after it was last accessed, or two years after it was created if never accessed.

To share a custom view that you have saved, simply open the custom view and use any sharing option.

Embed views

  1. Click Share in the toolbar for the view you want to embed.

  2. Click Copy Embed Code, then paste the embed code into the source code for the page where you want to embed the view.

    Copy embed code on share dialog

For more information, see Embed Views into Webpages.

Find content shared with you

The Shared with Me page, accessed from the navigation pane, stores items that have been shared with you. The most recently shared items also appear in the Shared with Me channel on the Home page. Each item shows who it was shared by, the date is was shared, and any message added by the sharer.

Shared with Me page

If an item has been shared with you multiple times, the information shown is for the most recent share. Views include additional information if multiple versions of the view have been shared with you. Custom views, modified views, and the original view all appear with unique details and links under Shared Versions.

List of shared versions

Thanks for your feedback! There was an error submitting your feedback. Please try again.