Change the Bridge Client Settings

There are several Bridge client settings that the site admin can configure to change how a client runs. In some cases, a data source owner might be responsible for some of the tasks described in this topic if he or she maintains his or her own client to run Bridge (legacy) schedules.

Run Bridge as a Windows service

In order for a client to be included in a pool, the client should run as a Windows service (Service mode). By default, a client is set to run as a Windows service so that it can load balance live queries and refreshes in the background without requiring a dedicated user to be logged in to the machine. For a client to run as a Windows service, the Windows user account that runs the client must be a member of the local Administrator group on the machine.

Note: If you're a data source owner and managing the client yourself, your client will not be included in the pool. However, if you want the Bridge (legacy) schedule to run in the background even when you're not logged on to your machine, your client must be running as a Windows service (Service mode).

  1. Open the Windows system tray and click the Bridge icon to open the client.

  2. From the Mode drop-down menu, select Service. A sign-in windows displays.

    Run Tableau Bridge continuously as a Windows service.

  3. Enter your local admin credentials.

    In your list of Windows services, Bridge appears as Tableau Bridge service. You can see this in the Windows Services console or on the Services tab in the Task Manager.

Stop running Bridge as a Windows service

To stop the client from running as a service, change its mode.

  1. Open the Windows system tray and click the Bridge icon to open the client.

  2. From the Mode drop-down menu, select Application.

    Run Tableau Bridge as an application instead of a service.

When the client is running in Application mode, live queries and scheduled refreshes can only run when the user is logged in to the Windows user account on the machine where the client is running from.

Switch the site a client is associated with

When you want to use a client to keep data sources published to a different Tableau Online site fresh, you can unlink the existing client and authenticate to the new site from the client.

  1. Open the Windows system tray and click the Bridge icon to open the client.
  2. From the drop-down menu, select Unlink.

    Unlink to remove all data information and stop sending refreshes to Tableau Online

    Unlink removes the list of data sources, schedules, and connection information from the client.

  3. Open the Windows system tray and click the Bridge icon to open the client.

  4. When prompted, sign in to the new site with your site admin credentials.

  5. Do one or both of the following to configure the client:

    • If this client refreshes file-based data sources, ask data source owners to reconfigure their data sources and refresh schedules.

    • If you want this client to facilitate live connections or extract connections that use Recommended schedules, ensure that the new client is part of the pool. For more information, see Configure and Manage the Bridge Client Pool

When you unlink a client, you might also need to remove the Bridge (legacy) schedules for the data sources that the client was refreshing. The other data sources will continue to have data freshness tasks performed by other registered clients in the pool.

For more information, see Effects of exit and unlink.

Configure a timeout limit for refreshes

To govern the misuse of extracts or refreshes, you can enforce a time limit, also known as a timeout limit, for refreshes performed by a client. The timeout limit is the longest allowable time for a single extract to complete a refresh before it's canceled by the client. If an extract refresh is canceled as a result of reaching the timeout limit, you will see a message in the client and an email alert will be sent to the data source owner.

By default, the timeout limit for a client is set to 24 hours. You can change the timeout limit for a client through the Bridge configuration file.

Note: The client must be restarted for any changes made to the configuration file to take effect.

  1. On the machine where the client is installed, go to the Configuration folder in the My Tableau Bridge Repository.

    The default location of the Configuration folder is C:\Users\jsmith\Documents\My Tableau Bridge Repository\Configuration.

  2. Open the TabBridgeClientConfiguration.txt file.

  3. Next to extractRefreshTimeout, change the time allowed for a refresh task to complete.

    Note: If you don't see the parameter in the configuration file, you can add "extractRefreshTimeout" : 08:00:00", to the dataSourceRefreshSettings setting like in the example below.

  4. Save and close the file.

  5. Exit and restart the client for the changes to take effect. The way you restart the client depends on whether the client is running in Application or Service mode.

    • For Application mode: from the client menu, select Exit.

    • For Service mode: from the Mode drop-down menu, select Application; from the client menu, select Exit.

Manage the size of Bridge log files

The client creates logs of activities as part of its normal operation. You might need to use these logs when you are troubleshooting issues with Bridge or if Tableau Support requests logs from you to help resolve an issue.

By default, the maximum size allowed for a Bridge log files is 25 MB. When a log file exceeds that size limit, a new log file is created. When the number of log files reaches 40, which is the default value for the maximum number of allowed Bridge log files, the oldest log file is deleted.

You can change the default values for these parameters through the Bridge configuration file.

Note: Log files named tabprotosrv* vary from other Bridge log files. The maximum size is 1 MB and the maximum number of allowed log files is 8,192. These values are also not configurable.

  1. On the machine where the client is installed, go to the Configuration folder in the My Tableau Bridge Repository.

    The default location of the Configuration folder is C:\Users\jsmith\Documents\My Tableau Bridge Repository\Configuration.

  2. Open the TabBridgeClientConfiguration.txt file.

  3. Next to loggerSettings, change the values for the following parameters:

    "maxLogFileSizeInMB" : 25

    "maxBackupLogFileCount" : 40

  4. Save and close the file.

  5. Exit and then restart the client for the changes to take effect. The way you restart the client depends on whether the client is running in Application or Service mode.

    • For Application mode: from the client menu, select Exit.

    • For Service mode: from the Mode drop-down menu, select Application; from the client menu, select Exit.

    Modify the size of the Bridge pool

    By default, each client in a pool can load balance up to 10 refresh jobs at one time. The maximum number of refresh jobs allowed per client is 100. If the number of refresh jobs running at a given time exceeds the capacity of your client pool or you have the hardware resources to support it, consider increasing each client's capacity.

    1. On the machine where the client is installed, go to the Configuration folder in the My Tableau Bridge Repository.

      The default location of the Configuration folder is C:\Users\jsmith\Documents\My Tableau Bridge Repository\Configuration.

    2. Open the TabBridgeClientConfiguration.txt file.

    3. Edit the value next to ConnectionPool.

    4. Save and close the file.

    5. Exit and then restart the client for the changes to take effect. The way you restart the client depends on whether the client is running in Application or Service mode.

      • For Application mode: from the client menu, select Exit.

      • For Service mode: from the Mode drop-down menu, select Application; from the client menu, select Exit.

Thanks for your feedback! There was an error submitting your feedback. Please try again.