Stop Keeping Data Fresh Through Bridge
This topic describes the ways a data source owner can stop refreshing data through Tableau Bridge when running Bridge (legacy) schedules.
Note: If you stop using Bridge, views that depend on data sources that rely on Bridge will no longer display data and produce blank pages instead.
One way you can stop a client from refreshing a data source that uses the Bridge (Legacy) schedule by removing the data source from the client.
Open the Windows system tray and click the Bridge icon to open the client.
Point to the data source and click the Remove icon next to the data source name.
To stop using a client and temporarily suspend updates to data sources performed by the client, open the client from the system tray, and on the settings menu in the upper-right, select Exit.
When you exit, the data sources and connection settings remain intact.
To stop a client and permanently remove the data sources the client links to Tableau Online, right-click the Bridge icon in the system tray, and select Unlink.
Unlinking a client also removes all connection information from the client, including stored database credentials and Tableau Online account credentials.
If you exit the client and the next refresh occurs while the client is temporarily stopped, the data source owner will see an alert in Tableau Online and be sent an email notification.
If you unlink a client, we recommend you delete the Bridge (legacy) schedules the client runs. For more information, see Delete the Bridge (legacy) schedule after unlinking a client, below.
When you unlink the client, you should also delete the Bridge (legacy) refresh schedules that the client runs. If a schedule is not deleted, the refresh will attempt to run as scheduled. In cases like this, you might receive refresh failure notifications.
Sign in to Tableau Online and navigate to the data source.
On the data source page, click the Extract Refreshes tab.
Tick the box next to the schedule and select Actions > Delete.
You can permanently remove a client from a site, which will make the client no longer visible when setting up a Bridge (legacy) schedule.
Sign in to Tableau Online and navigate to your Account Settings page.
Under Connected Clients, click Delete next to the client you want to permanently remove from the site.