View, Manage, or Remove Users

Administrators can manage a site’s users such as adding and removing users, setting the groups they’re members of, setting their site roles, and so on. On Tableau Server, server administrators can manage users on multiple sites at a time on the All Sites page.

View and manage users on a site

Sign in to a site as an administrator, and then select Users. On this page you can do any of the following to manage users:

  • Set group membership, set site role, or remove the user from the site. If you’ve configured the site for SAML single sign-on, you can set the selected users’ authentication type.

  • Select a user name to see details about them, such as content they own, views they subscribe to, and their account settings.

    The user Settings page is available when the following conditions are true:

    • The user is a member only of sites that the site administrator controls

    • Site administrators can manage users. This is always the case for Tableau Online and is the default for Tableau Server; Tableau Server administrators can change this access for site admins.

    If the server is configured to use the internal user management system (Local Authentication), you can edit the Display Name, Email, and Password for users after they have been added. If you are making many changes, you may find it easier to import the changes from a CSV file. For details, see Import Users and CSV Import File Guidelines.

View and edit server users

Sign in to Tableau Server as a server administrator. On the site menu, select Manage All Sites, and then select Users.

Manage users’ site membership

By default, server and site administrators can manage users at the individual site level. Server administrators can also manage users and their site roles on multiple sites. You do this at the All Sites level (at the server level).

  1. In the site menu, select Manage All Sites, and then select Users.

  2. On the Server Users page, select the check boxes next to the users, and then select Actions > Site Membership.

  3. Select one or more sites, and a site role for each site, and then click Save.

Search for users

To search for a specific user

Use the filter toggle in the upper right to display the search box and site role filter. Then use the search box or filters to find the users you want.

The search operation checks the display name and user name attributes.

You can use the asterisk (*) character as a search wildcard. For example, searching for John* will return all user names that start with John.

Remove users from a site

You can remove a user only if the user does not own any content (projects, workbooks, views, or data sources). If you attempt to remove a user who owns content, the user site role will be set to Unlicensed, but the user will not be removed.

If the default All Users group has enabled Grant site role on sign in, that user's content must be reassigned to another user or removed before they can be unlicensed or removed. For more information on Grant role on sign in, see Removing users affected by Grant role on sign in. For more information on changing content ownership, see Manage Content Ownership

Note: On Tableau Server, when an administrator removes a user from a site (and the user belongs only to that one site), the user is also deleted from the server.

  1. Sign in to a site as an administrator, and go to the Users area. Select one or more users to remove, and then select Actions > Remove.

  2. Click Remove in the confirmation dialog.

Remove users from the server

You can remove a user only if the user does not own any content (projects, workbooks, views, or data sources). If you attempt to remove a user who owns content, the user site role will be set to Unlicensed, but the user will not removed.

If a user is a member of multiple sites, and they own content on any of those sites, they are removed from the sites on which they don’t own content. The user remains a member on sites where they own content, but demoted to the Unlicensed site role.

  1. In the site menu, click Manage All Sites, and then click Users. In a single-site environment, click Users.

    Select one or more users to delete, and then click Actions > Delete.

  2. Click Delete in the confirmation dialog box.

Change passwords for users of a single site

To change the password for a user with membership to a single site, sign in to Tableau Server as a site administrator or a server administrator.

  1. Ensure that the correct site is selected in the menu.

  2. Click Users.

  3. Click the display name of a user.

  4. Click Settings.

  5. Click the Change Password link, edit the password, and then click Save Password.

    Click the Change Password link in the User Settings.

Change passwords for users of multiple sites

To change the password of a user with membership to multiple sites, sign in to Tableau Server as a server administrator.

  1. In the site menu, click Manage All Sites.

  2. Click Users.

  3. Click the display name of a user.

  4. Click the Change Password link, edit the password, and then click Save Password.

Thanks for your feedback! There was an error submitting your feedback. Please try again.