Migration Plans: User Permissions Mapping

The Content Migration Tool allows you to replicate workbook and data source permissions to Tableau Server environments in different network domains or have differences in username or group syntax. You can create user permissions mappings to customize and secure content after it has been published to the destination location. Mappings are applied if Copy Project Permissions, Copy Workbook Permissions, or Copy Data Source Permissions have been selected earlier in the planning phase, along with Apply User Mappings.

For more information, see Migration Plans: Source Projects, Migration Plans: Workbooks, and Migration Plans: Published Data Sources.

Mapping Limitations

  • Content Migration Tool will stop the migration process if it fails to find the mapped user or group in the destination location. Subsequent user or group permissions mappings are not checked after the first failure, and the plan must be run again.
  • Content Migration Tool cannot replicate permissions if the source content has permissions for multiple users and groups with identical names. This only occurs when there are duplicate user or group names sourced from separate domains.

Step 1: Add Mapping

To add user permissions mapping, click Add Mapping and select whether to change the name of a domain, user, or group. If Content Migration Tool is unable to match a permission in the destination location, the source content will not be migrated.

Domain Mapping

Domain permissions mapping applies to all users and groups in the destination location. If you are unsure about the source or destination domain, you can check the user and group pages in Tableau Server. If local user provisioning has been selected, the domain must be specified as local.

User Mapping

User permissions mapping automatically populates a list of users from the source and destination locations using the syntax domain\user. You cannot enter and save the names of users that don’t exist.

Group Mapping

Group permissions mapping automatically populates a list of users from the source and destination locations using the syntax domain\group. You cannot enter and save the names of groups that don’t exist.

Step 2: Change Mapping Order

After a permissions mapping is created, you can change the order using the Up or Down options to determine when it will be handled during the migration. When a domain, user, or group is handled in a permissions mapping, any subsequent permissions mappings for the source domain, user, or group will be ignored.

In the example below, permissions for User_A are mapped to User_B. Content Migration Tool will ignore the second permissions mapping because User_A has already been handled.

In the example below, the first permissions mapping associates the domain for all users to prod. Content Migration Tool will ignore the second permissions mapping because the domain for User_A has already been handled.

Step 3: Continue to Next Step

When you are ready, click Next to continue to the Migration Plans: Migration Scripts section of the planning phase.

Who can do this

Tableau Server user with a Site Administrator Explorer role or higher. To migrate content, you must have View and Download Workbook/Save a Copy permissions on the source site, and Publishing rights for the destination site. For more information, see Permissions.

Thanks for your feedback!