The last step of creating a migration plan in the Tableau Content Migration Tool is configuring the Options section.

Each option on this screen has a question mark that will provide contextual assistance for that particular option.

Step 1: Options

There are five options.

The Plan Name is the name of the plan as it will appear in Content Migration Tool. We recommend using a user-friendly name for your plan name.

The following checkboxes offer the following additional options:

  • Refresh Extracts After Migration: If selected, any data extracts will be refreshed immediately after migration if Content Migration Tooldetects that they might have been modified during migration. Click the Filter link for more options.

  • Automatically create Extract Refresh Schedules that do not Exist: Automatically creates destination extract schedules that do not exist. If not checked, source schedules that do not exist on the destination server will not be copied.

  • Continue Migration if Workbook or Data Source Fails: If checked, errors migrating a workbook or data source will not cause the migration to stop. The errors will be logged and the migration will continue. Errors during version control will always stop the migration.

  • Continue Migration if Permission or Ownership Mapping Fails: If checked, errors copying permissions or ownership will not cause the migration to stop. The errors will be logged and the migration will continue.

Exclude Extract Refreshes

By clicking on the Filter link after the Refresh Extracts After Migration option, you will be able to choose which workbooks or published data sources will be excluded from being refreshed.

Use the back and forth arrow buttons to select which items you want excluded and then click OK.

Step 2: Version control

These options allow you to avoid losing the existing workbooks in the destination site that might be replaced by the migrated workbooks.

Click Enable to save your previous versions. You can choose to archive workbooks and/or published data sources. You’ll need to select an option from the Archive To menu which lists all of the projects in your destination site. We recommend creating a special archive project just to store your versioned workbooks.

There is a refresh button at the end of the Archive To box to update any projects that have been added to the site.

Step 3: Save plan

Once you have completed all of your selections on the Plan Options screen, you can save your plan for future use. Click Save Plan.

Your plan will be saved to Tableau Content Migration Tool folder in the My Documents folder on your local machine.

Step 4: Continue to the next step

When you are ready, click on Verify & Run to end the Planning phase of your migration and prepare to run your plan.

Who can do this

Tableau site user with an Explorer role or higher. To migrate content, you must have View and Download Workbook/Save a Copy permissions on the source site, and Publishing rights for the destination site. For more information, see Permissions.

Thanks for your feedback!