Synchronize Active Directory Groups in a Site
At any time, you can synchronize an Active Directory group with Tableau Server to ensure new users in Active Directory are also added in Tableau Server. You can synchronize individual groups or multiple groups at once.
In a site, click Groups.
On the Groups page, select one or more groups.
Click Actions > Synchronize.
Set the minimum site role for users in an Active Directory group
In the Groups - Details page, administrators can set the minimum site role for group users to apply during synchronization.
This setting does not run synchronization; it sets the minimum site role to applied to the group every time synchronization runs. When you synchronize Active Directory groups, new users are added to the site with the minimum site role. If a user already exists, the minimum site role will be applied if it gives the user more access in a site. If you don't set a minimum site role, new users are added as Unlicensed by default.
Note: A user's site role can be promoted but never demoted based on the minimum site role setting. If a user already has the ability to publish, that ability will always be maintained. For more information on minimum site role, see Site roles and Active Directory import and synchronization.
In a site, click Groups.
On the Groups page, select a group, and then select Actions > Minimum Site Role.
Select the minimum site role, and then click Change Site Role.
What happens when users are removed in the source Active Directory?
Users cannot be automatically removed from the Tableau Server through an Active Directory sync operation. Users that are disabled, deleted, or removed from groups in Active Directory remain on Tableau Server so that administrators can audit and reassign the user's content before removing the user's account completely. For more information, see Sync behavior when removing users from Active Directory.
What happens when a user name changes in the source Active Directory
By default, Tableau Server will not synchronize changes to the user display name or email address after the initial synchronization when the corresponding account is created in Tableau Server. For example, if the user name jsmith is used for the display name John Smith, changing the display name in Active Directory to Joe Smith will not synchronize to the corresponding jsmith user in Tableau Server. Similarly, if the user's email changes in Active Directory, Tableau Server will not synchronize changes.
To change this behavior run the following tsm commands:
tsm configuration set -k vizportal.adsync.update_system_user -v true
tsm pending-changes apply
pending-changes apply command displays a prompt to let you know this will restart Tableau Server if the server is running. The prompt displays even if the server is stopped, but in that case there is no restart. You can suppress the prompt using the
--ignore-prompt option, but this does not change the restart behavior. For more information, see tsm pending-changes apply.
What happens when an Active Directory group is removed from Tableau Server?
Many Tableau administrators use Active Directory groups to import and create users. After the users are imported into Tableau Server, administrators will then delete the group in Tableau Server. Deleting a group does not delete the users in it.