Disable Automatic Client Authentication

After Tableau connected clients (Tableau Desktop, Tableau Mobile, Tableau Prep Builder, Bridge, and personal access tokens) successfully sign in to Tableau Server, they are automatically authenticated in the future. Connected client sessions are managed by OAuth access and refresh tokens.

By default, OAuth client tokens reset after a year. If a client token has not been used in 14 days, then it will expire. You can change these values by setting the refresh_token.absolute_expiry_in_seconds and refresh_token.idle_expiry_in_seconds options. See tsm configuration set Options.

As a Tableau Server administrator can also disable OAuth automatic authentication for connected clients. In this case, session expiry is solely governed by Tableau Server session behavior, which manages Web authoring sessions. See 10. Verify session lifetime configuration.

Web authoring sessions are not considered a "connected client," and they do not use OAuth tokens.

To immediately disconnect connected clients from Tableau Server and require users to sign in every time they connect:

  1. In the site menu, click Manage All Sites, and then click Settings > General.

  2. Under Connected Clients, clear the option Allow clients to automatically connect to Tableau Server.

  3. Click Save.

Thanks for your feedback! There was an error submitting your feedback. Please try again.