Set a Site’s Web Authoring Access and Functions

Tableau Server administrators can specify at the site level whether to allow users to edit published views in the web environment and configure other web authoring functionality.

By default web authoring functionality is enabled for all sites. Users with the Web Edit capability can create and edit workbooks directly on the server. Turn off web authoring if you want users to be able to view and interact with published workbooks but not make any changes to the core information.

The steps below describe how to set web authoring and other associated functionality for an entire site. For more granular control over which users can use web editing, you can use projects, groups, and permissions. See Set Web Edit, Save, and Download Access on Content(Link opens in a new window).

Turn web authoring on or off for a site

  1. In a web browser, sign in to the server as an administrator and go to the site in which you want web authoring to be enabled. In that site, click Settings.

  2. Select Allow users to use web authoring to enable the functionality.

    Clear the check box to turn off web authoring for that site.

    Make views on your site uneditable

  3. If your site is already in production, and you want the change to take effect immediately, restart the server.

    Otherwise, the change takes effect after server session caching expires or the next time users sign in after signing out.

Notes

  • When you enable web authoring, make sure that, on the appropriate workbooks or views, the permission rule for a user or group allows the Web Edit capability.

  • If you turn off web authoring on a production site and do not complete the last step to restart the server, users might continue to have authoring access until their session caches expire or they sign out.

See which sites allow web authoring

To confirm which sites allow web authoring, on the site-selection menu at the top, select Manage All Sites, and then go to the Sites page.

Configure cross-database join options

To improve performance for cross-database joins, users can allow Tableau to perform the join using the live database they are connected to instead of using Hyper. While this option is faster, if Tableau uses the connected database to perform the join, data from the file data source that the user is connected to is temporarily moved into temp tables in the database. Because this moves data outside of Tableau, as an administrator you may want to restrict access to this feature for users with web authoring permissions.

  1. In a web browser, sign in to the server as an administrator and go to the site in which you want web authoring to be enabled. In that site, click Settings.
  2. In the Cross-Database Joins setting, select one of the following options:
    • Use Tableau or existing databases - Select this option if you want to allow users to choose whether they want to allow Tableau to use the live database to perform cross database joins. Published data sources with this option enabled will continue to use the user's database for cross-database joins.
    • Use Tableau only - Select this option to restrict users to use only Hyper to perform cross data-base joins.

      If you select Use Tableau only, the option to choose how Tableau performs the cross-database join won't display in the canvas when the user connects to a supported data source and supported database. For more information about this feature, see Improve performance for cross-database joins(Link opens in a new window).

Thanks for your feedback! There was an error submitting your feedback. Please try again.